2021 Gold Cup draw tonight: Qatar seeded in Pot 4

2020-09-28 | Since 1 Month


Qatar National Team

Doha, 28 September 2020 - Concacaf (Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association) will conduct the draw for the 2021 Gold Cup with 16 teams looking to win Concacaf’s most prestigious national team tournament. The draw is set to take place on Monday (September 28).
AFC Champions Qatar, who will guest in the competition, are in the fourth pot with the winning three teams from the preliminary qualifiers which will be played the week before the finals start in July 2021.
Qatar are the seventh guest nation to compete in a Gold Cup and the first since 2005, joining the ranks of Brazil (1996, 1998, 2003), Colombia (2000, 2003, 2005), Peru (2000), Ecuador (2002), South Africa (2005) and South Korea (2000, 2002).
Along with South Korea, Qatar will become the second nation from the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) to appear in a Gold Cup tournament.
The draw will be broadcast live and hosted by Emmy award winning TUDN sportscaster Lindsay Casinelli and Fox Sports Lead Soccer Analyst and United States Men’s National Team legend Alexi Lalas.
A number of the national team head coaches will be participating virtually in the evening event.
Concacaf Gold Cup prelims seeded teams and draw pot (to qualify three teams via knockout for Gold Cup group stage).
Pre-seeded teams: Haiti, Guatemala, Trinidad and Tobago, Cuba, Guadeloupe and Bermuda.
Pot 1: French Guiana, Guyana, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Barbados, Montserrat and Bahamas
Concacaf Gold Cup Group Stage Draw
Pots (based on August 2020 Concacaf Ranking)
Pot 1 (pre-seeded teams): Mexico (Group A), USA (Group B), Costa Rica (Group C) and Honduras (Group D)
Pot 2: Jamaica, Canada, Panama and El Salvador
Pot 3: Martinique, Curacao, Suriname and Grenada
Pot 4: Three Prelims
Winners and Qatar (Group D).


Add Comment