Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy Begins in Doha

2023-11-05 | Since 1 Month

Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy Begins in Doha

Doha, 5 November 2023 - The Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy for men's and women's kicked off. The two-day trophy is organized by the Qatar Rugby and Hockey Committee at Al Ersal pitch in Onazia.

The Qatari men's team qualified for the final rounds after defeating Jordanian counterpart 24-10, and it will face Thailand and Pakistan tomorrow. The Qatari women's team failed to win any of its three matches against the UAE, Iran and Uzbekistan.

In other matches, the Iranian men's team lost to Bahrain 5-22, and the Iraqi men's team lost to India 47-0, while the Indian women's team defeated Mongolian counterpart 36-0. The Saudi men's team lost to Thai counterpart 37-0, whereas Uzbekistan tied with Bahrain 19-19.

In the men's category, Qatar team was drawn in the second group alongside the teams of Thailand, Iran, Jordan, India, Iraq, Bahrain, and Saudi Arabia. The first group included Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Nepal, Uzbekistan, and Kyrgyzstan.

As for the women's category, the draw placed Qatar team in the second group alongside the UAE, Iran, and Uzbekistan, while the first group were India, Guam, and Mongolia.

The event's champion in the men's and women's categories qualifies to the Asian Series competitions that will be held next year and qualify for the 2027 Rugby Sevens World Cup. 


Add Comment